Jumping on the Organic Bandwagon

Those who know me, know that I’m easily persuaded. Tonight was no exception.

Colin and I went to an event hosted by CU where Robyn O’Brien (called food’s Erin Brokovich) spoke about the issues within the U.S. food industry and how they are affecting the overall health of Americans.

unhealthy-truth

I know some people will think that living in hippie, outdoorsy Boulder has gotten the best of me–but I’ll argue that it is the facts presented to me, not the liberal city in which I reside, that has inspired me to pursue a healthier lifestyle.

While I’m not going to ramble on and on about the benefits of an organic lifestyle, I will highlight a few key points that Robyn made that had the biggest impact on me:

  • of the 1 out of 8 women that are diagnosed with breast cancer, only 1/10 of those women genetically inherited that gene–the other 9/10 of those women are suffering due to lifestyle and food choices.
  • every other developed country in.the.world. refused to include additives such as rBGH and GMOs in their food because there are no results or studies that can disprove any harmful affects–the U.S., on the other hand, decided TO include these additives because there have been no long-term studies that can prove a negative affect.  Seriously?  We’re really going to roll the dice on this one?
  • in the U.S., we specially label things without those additives and chemicals as ‘organic’ because most foods contain them–in every other country, they specially label the foods WITH the additives and chemicals, because most foods DO NOT contain them.

Listening to Robyn speak was incredibly eye-opening and I’m so glad that I went.  However, now comes the hard part of figuring out how to afford the organic lifestyle…dun-dun-dun.

USDA-Organic-Label

As a young professional still living on a poor college student budget, I’ve decided to take Robyn’s advice and make baby steps when financially possible.  Here are my goals that I hope to achieve slowly but surely, in the order I hope to make them happen:

  1. Start with organic dairy–rBGH is so awful.  Seriously, google it.
  2. Eat less processed foods.  Cut down on the amount of packaged snacks and microwavable dinners.  If you can’t pronounce the ingredients, you probably shouldn’t be eating it.
  3. Avoid high fructose corn syrup, GMOs, artificial colors and dyes.
  4. Eventually, try to embrace an 80/20 lifestyle.  Living on a tight budget, my try at an organic lifestyle will be far from perfect–but any progress in that direction is good progress.

So, you may think I’m crazy, you may think ‘organic’ is simply a marketing ploy for companies.  And that’s okay.  I’m going to choose to be optimistic and hope that it is what it claims to be, and that it will miraculously add 5 years to my life 😉  Wish me luck!

XOXO, Chantelle

Leave a Reply

